Board
Dr. Bernhard Schirmers

Dr. Schirmers studied law at the Ruhr-University in Bochum (Germany)then served as an assistant professor at the same institution and at the University of Passau (Germany). He later pursued a law internship in Bavaria and earned a J.D. in antitrust law. After serving as an assistant to, then as director of the executive board at HDI (now Talanx), and as a consultant and senior project leader at McKinsey & Co. Inc, Dr. Schirmers founded SHS, where he continues to serve as a partner and managing director.

Prof. Dr. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans-Florian Zeilhofer
(representative of the founding members)

In addition to acting as the chosen representative of the founding members to the board, Prof. Zeilhofer (a key opinion leader in the field of maxillofacial surgery) also serves as a medical advisor to AOT. Prof. Zeilhofer heads the department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at the University Hospital in Basel (Switzerland) and the Cantonal Hospital and its affiliated research center in Aarau (Switzerland). In addition, Prof. Zeilhofer chairs the research group “Clinical Morphology and Biomedical Engineering” at the University Hospital in Basel, and is president of the Swiss Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons.

Dr. Erich Platzer
(Chairman of the Board)

Dr. Erich Platzer completed his medical studies and training at the University of Erlangen (Germany). Since 2001, he has worked as an investment advisor and is the co-founder of the venture capital company HBM BioVentures. He served for several years as the president of privately and publicly-traded biotech companies, amassed 10 years’ operational experience in the areas of product development and marketing, and was responsible for several strategic collaborations as the Head of Oncology at Roche. Currently, Dr. Platzer is chair of the board of directors at AOT AG and Cylene Pharmaceuticals, vice-chairman of mtm laboratories and a board member at Nereus and ProBiodrug.

Dr. Werner Berner

Dr. Werner Berner received his bachelor of science in mechanical engineering from the Technical Institute of Brugg-Windisch (Switzerland) and his doctoral degree in physics from the University of Bern (Switzerland). He has held senior positions at international companies, where, among other things, he was responsible for establishing a production and supply chain for an orthopedic implants company. Dr. Berner is the founder and president of Berner Partners AG, a consulting and engineering company. He is also a member of the board of directors at various companies in the MedTech field, and is the chairman of the board of trustees at several foundations.

Dr. Peter Burckhardt
(Vice-President of the Board)

Dr. Peter Burckhardt is a trained chemist who earned his doctorate from the University of Basel (Switzerland.) He started his career in pharmaceutical research at Ciba-Geigy in 1984, and subsequently held several management positions in the areas of research, development, production, and communication. From 1996 to 1999 he was CEO of Ciba-Geigy’s Animal Health division in Germany. The CEO of the start-up incubator EVA in Basel, he is now a member of various administrative boards within the EVA portfolio.

Board
Dr. Bernhard Schirmers

Dr. Schirmers studierte Rechtswissenschaften an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum (D), arbeitete dann als Assistent an dieser renommierten Universität und an der Universität Passau (D). Dann folgten ein Rechtsreferendariat im Freistaat Bayern und die Promotion im Kartellrecht. Nach Stationen als Vorstandsassistent und Leiter des Vorstandsbüros bei HDI (heute Talanx) und als Unternehmensberater und Senior-Projektleiter bei McKinsey & Co. Inc. wurde er Gründer, Partner und Geschäftsführer von SHS.

Prof. Dr. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans-Florian Zeilhofer
(Gründungsmitgliedervertreter)

Als Vertreter der Gründungsmitglieder fungiert Prof. Zeilhofer zusätzlich – als bekannter Opinion Leader – auch als medizinischer Berater von AOT. Prof. Zeilhofer leitet die Mund-, Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgische Abteilung des Universitätsspitals Basel (CH) und des Kantonsspitals Aarau (CH) und ist ebenfalls Leiter des dazugehörigen Forschungszentrums. Zudem bekleidet Prof. Zeilhofer die Position des Sprechers der Forschungsgruppe «Clinical Morphology and Biomedical Engineering» des Universitätsspitals Basel und ist Präsident der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Mund- und Maxillofacial- Chirurgen.

Dr. Erich Platzer
(Verwaltungsratspräsident)

Dr. Erich Platzer erlangte seine Approbation, Promotion und Habilitation an der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Erlangen (D). Seit 2001 ist er als Investment Advisor und Mitgründer bei der Venture-Capital- Firma HBM BioVentures tätig; davor war er mehrere Jahre VR-Präsident privater und börsenkotierter Biotechfirmen, sammelte 10 Jahre operative Erfahrung in den Bereichen Produktentwicklung und Marketing und war als Leiter der Onkologie bei Roche verantwortlich für verschiedene strategische Kooperationen. Aktuell ist Dr. Platzer Verwaltungsratspräsident der AOT AG sowie von Cylene Pharmaceuticals, stellvertretender VR-Präsident der mtm laboratories und Verwaltungsratsmitglied von Nereus und ProBiodrug.

Dr. Werner Berner

Dr. Werner Berner diplomierte in Maschinenbau an der Fachhochschule Brugg-Windisch (CH). Er studierte anschliessend an der Philosophisch- naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Bern (CH) und schloss mit dem Doktorat in Physik ab. Er hatte leitende Funktionen in international tätigen Firmen inne und war unter anderem für den Aufbau einer Produktionsfirma für orthopädische Implantate und deren internationaler Supply Chain verantwortlich. Dr. Berner ist Gründer und Präsident der Berner Partners AG, einer Beratungsund Engineeringfirma. Weiterhin ist er Verwaltungsrat in unterschiedlichen Firmen aus dem medizinischen Bereich und Stiftungsratspräsident mehrerer Stiftungen.

Dr. Peter Burckhardt
(Vizepräsident Verwaltungsrat)

Dr. Peter Burckhardt ist ausgebildeter Chemiker und erhielt seine Doktorwürde von der Universität Basel (CH). Er startete seine Karriere in der Pharmaforschung 1984 bei Ciba- Geigy und bekleidete danach mehrere Managementpositionen in den Bereichen Forschung, Entwicklung, Produktion und Kommunikation. Von 1996 bis 1999 war er CEO der Animal Health Division des Konzerns in Deutschland. Als CEO des Start-up-Inkubators EVA in Basel (CH) ist er heute Mitglied von diversen Verwaltungsräten des EVA-Portfolios.